Looks like the social media giant is running out of ideas, as Facebook has copied Snapchat once again and rolled out ‘Messenger Day’ – a Snapchat Stories clone – in its Messenger app, globally.

At the end of last year, Facebook introduced a revamped camera for Messenger, with a lot of stickers, filters, emoji, effects, masks and more – a feature that already existed in Snapchat. Now the company introduces Messenger Day.

Facebook says,

“At the same time, we also began testing a way for you to share these photos and videos — as they happen — by adding to your Messenger Day, where many of your friends can view and reply to them. You’re always in control of who can see your day — share it with everyone, or choose specific friends and family members on Messenger.”

The Messenger Day feature is just like ephemeral stories that last for 24 hours and then automatically disappear. Now, this feature is rolling out globally to all the Android and iOS users.

Facebook has started to flag fake stories as ‘disputed’

How to use Messenger Day?

◘ Update your Messenger app to the latest version.
◘ Open Messenger and tap on the camera highlighted with a sun.
◘ Take a selfie or make a video.
◘ Click the smiley icon on the top right to add effects, frames or stickers to your photo. You can also add text or doodle over your photos.

◘ After you’ve edited your picture, tap an arrow on bottom right corner. You can then add it directly to your day, save it to your phone’s camera roll, and/or you can choose to send it to a specific person or group of people.

The photo or video that you add to your day will be view-able for 24 hours.

Facebook Messenger to get Reactions & Dislike Button

Who can see your day?

It will be totally up to the users if they want to share their day with everyone or with specific family/friends.

Users can customize the sharing by tapping the more icon and then choosing Everyone Except or Custom. To delete their story, users can select the image, then tap the three dots at the bottom right-hand corner, and then select Delete.