Every now and then, apps like Unroll.me pops into the headlines to remind us that we authorize a lot of apps to access our email and social media accounts. And sometimes, as is the case with Unroll.me, those apps get busy selling off our data. Now’s a good time to audit any other third-party apps you’ve given access to your accounts.

Couple of days ago, when the Unroll.me made it to the headlines for selling users data to the Uber, we wrote about how you don’t have to use these email unsubscription services any more. Read about that HERE. 

A lot of web apps request access to another account. Sometimes because they’re adding something to that service, other times it’s simply because of OAuth – which grants an app access to an account using a token. Many times we give access to an app, forget about it and our data ends up in wrong hands. So, let’s go ahead and give ourselves a good old fashioned audit, as the services like Unroll.me aren’t trustworthy anymore.

Google

Head to the Apps Connected to Your Account Page. Alternatively you can open the page by signing in to Google > Profile picture > My Accounts > Sign in & Security > Connected apps & sites > Manage apps. Click on the apps you want to revoke access from, click remove, then click Ok.

Microsoft

Head to the Apps Page or sign-in to your account, then Accounts > Privacy, scroll down to Apps and Services. Click Edit next to the app you want to remove, then click Remove these permissions.

> Facebook releases another plan to encounter fake news

Facebook

Head to the App Page – Settings > Apps > App Settings > Show All – mouse-over any application, then click the X icon to remove an app. And because this is Facebook, you’ll have to do this individually for each app, and the page refreshes itself each time you remove an app.

Twitter

Head to your Apps Page or sign-in to your account, click on your Profile picture at the top right corner, click on Settings and Privacy and then click on the Apps tab. There click Revoke Access on any apps you no longer want to access your Twitter and data.

Yahoo!

Head to the Manage App and Website Connections page by clicking on your Profile icon > Account Info > Recent Activity, then click Remove next to any apps you want to revoke access from.

Yahoo’s photo-sharing service, Flickr also has its own page for doing this, called the App Garden. Head to The App Garden Page by signing in to your account then clicking your Profile > Settings > Sharing & Extending, then click Edit next to Account Links. From there, click “Revoke permission?” next to any apps you want to remove.

> Google is reportedly planning a built-in ad blocker for Chrome

AOL

Open the Site Permissions Page – Login to MyAccount > Account Options > Manage Site Permissions – from there, click Remove for any apps you want to stop using your account data.

LinkedIn

Head to the Permitted Services section or just login to your account, go to your Profile > Account > Partners and Third Parties and click Revoke next to any services you want to remove.

Instagram

Login to your Instagram account and go to the Authorized Applications page by clicking the gear icon > Authorized Apps from the web app, because this function isn’t accessible from the mobile app. Click the Revoke Access next to any apps you want to remove.

Dropbox

Head to your Apps Linked page – Profile Icon > Settings > Security. At the bottom of the page, you’ll be seeing a list of all the apps you’ve granted access to Dropbox. Click the X next to each one then Uninstall to remove it.

Though the procedure might seem a little long and silly, it is worth doing every few months, because it is easy to lose track of every single app you’ve connected to your various accounts.

READ MORE | Erase your Web Accounts in one click

> on lifehacker 

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY