In an important update, the Facebook owned Instagram has started to blur sensitive photos and videos and the company is also rolling out two-factor authentication to everyone.

Photo and video sharing social networking app – Instagram has been adding many features since last year to make it a better and safer platform for everyone.

Instagram states,

“As part of our goal to build a safe environment, we also have some updates to announce. Soon you may notice a screen over sensitive photos and videos when you scroll through your feed or visit a profile. While these posts don’t violate our guidelines, someone in the community has reported them and our review team has confirmed they are sensitive. This change means you are less likely to have surprising or unwanted experiences in the app. If you’d like to see a post that is covered with a screen, simply tap to reveal the photo or video.”

Blurring Sensitive Content

Blurring the sensitive content

After updating the app, users will start noticing a blurred screen over certain photos and videos with the message of “Sensitive Content”. This means that someone from the community has reported them to be offensive and Instagram’s review team has confirmed that they are sensitive.

Instagram now lets you save your Live Videos to Camera Roll

Two-factor Authentication

Two-factor Authentication (2FA) is an all-important and an extra layer of security which ensures that your account stays safe and you are the only one to access it, if someone else gets to know your password. 2FA is an extra piece of information, which can be an alpha-numeric code or something else.

◘ To enable it, tap the gear icon
◘ Look for Two-Factor Authentication and enable it
◘ Instagram will then send a security code to your phone number

Once 2FA is on, a code will be sent to your mobile whenever you log-in to your account.

In case you lose access to your phone number or can’t receive a security code by text, there’s also an option “Get Backup Codes” in the Two-Factor Authentication section.

Previously, this feature was available only to a limited set of members as a part of beta but Instagram has rolled out this to everyone, globally.